THE SPIRE INSTRUMENT OF THE HERSCHEL SPACE TELESCOPE

Herschel is the fourth cornerstone mission of the European Space Agency’s (ESA) Horizons 2000 program. This next generation space observatory is scheduled for launch in August 2007 and will allow astronomers to study topics ranging from how the first galaxies were formed after the big bang to how stars are currently being formed in our own galaxy, the Milky Way. The spacecraft features a giant telescope with a primary mirror of 3.5m diameter, the largest mirror ever launched into space. The school-bus sized spacecraft will house three far-infrared and submillimeter instruments at temperatures just a few degrees above absolute zero. The sensitivity of the detectors at these low temperatures allows them to detect radiation from the farthest reaches of the universe. Appropriately, the mission is named after Sir William Herschel (1738 – 1822), the first astronomer to make observations in the infrared part of the electromagnetic spectrum.

Canada is participating in two of the three instruments onboard Herschel: SPIRE and HIFI. Professor David Naylor from the University of Lethbridge is leading Canada’s contribution to SPIRE, the Spectral and Photometric Imaging REceiver; Professor Michel Fich from the University of Waterloo is the Canadian lead for HIFI, the Heterodyne Instrument for the Far-Infrared. SPIRE can be thought of as a camera that operates at very long wavelengths well beyond the limit of human vision. Observations at these wavelengths provide astronomers with a unique tool to study the physical conditions of the early universe. The spectrometer part of SPIRE can be thought of as providing the camera with colour film, opening up another dimension in our study of the universe. With funding from the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) the University of Lethbridge team is providing hardware to evaluate the performance of SPIRE prior to launch, as well as data processing software and staff support for the operational phase of the mission. In return for these contributions, five associate scientists from universities and research institutes across Canada receive guaranteed observing time with the Herschel telescope for their own research. This team will study a wide range of astronomical problems including: understanding the distribution of matter during the early phases of our universe, tracing the evolution of active galaxies in our immediate neighborhood, and studying the early phases of star formation in our own galaxy.

The SPIRE flight model is currently undergoing performance evaluation at the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Oxford UK. This important test campaign represents the last window of opportunity to identify and remedy problems with the instrument design. While first results from the flight model tests have been impressive, the Canadian team quickly identified an unexpected feature in the data and traced it to a late modification in the optical design. Discussions are currently on-going as to what action can and should be taken to decrease the impact of this design feature while minimizing the risk to the project.

Canada’s involvement in the Herschel mission not only showcases Canadian expertise on an international space mission but also builds the infrastructure necessary for participation in future missions. Herschel will not be the last word on space-based far-infrared astronomy: NASA, ESA, and the Japanese space agencies are currently exploring options for future infrared space missions building on the pioneering work of the Herschel space observatory, and Canada is well positioned to play a significant role in these missions.

The details are being presented at the annual meeting of the Canadian Astronomical Society held at Université de Montréal in Montréal (QC) from 15 to 17 May 2005..

Contact:

Professor David Naylor
Dept. of Physics
University of Lethbridge
Phone: 403-329-2426
Email: naylor@uleth.ca

For more information visit:

http://research.uleth.ca/spire/
http://www.space.gc.ca/asc/index.html
http://sci.esa.int/science-e/www/area/index.cfm?fareaid=16

Picture captions:
Artists impression of Herschel Spacecraft.
http://www.astro.umontreal.ca/~casca/PR/clip_image001.jpg

Herschel Telescope Primary Mirror inspection at EADS Astrium, Toulouse, France.
http://www.astro.umontreal.ca/~casca/PR/clip_image002.jpg

Dr. David Naylor aligns the Canadian built Fourier transform spectrometer at the SPIRE test facility at the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Oxford, UK.
http://www.astro.umontreal.ca/~casca/PR/clip_image003.jpg

L'INSTRUMENT SPIRE DU TÉLESCOPE SPATIAL HERSCHEL

La mission Herschel est la quatrième pierre angulaire du programme Horizon 2000 de l’Agence spatiale européenne (ESA). Cet observatoire spatial de prochaine génération, dont le lancement est prévu en août 2007, permettra aux astronomes d’étudier notamment la naissance et l’évolution des premières galaxies après le Big Bang ou encore le processus de formation actuel des étoiles dans notre propre galaxie, la Voie lactée. L’engin spatial est équipé d’un télescope géant doté d’un miroir primaire de 3,5 m de diamètre, soit le plus grand jamais envoyé dans l’espace. L’engin, qui a la taille d’un autobus, abritera trois instruments fonctionnant dans la gamme de l’infrarouge lointain et des ondes sub-millimétriques à des températures à peine plus élevées que le zéro absolu. La sensibilité des détecteurs à ces basses températures est telle qu’ils peuvent déceler des rayonnements venant des confins de l’Univers. Cette mission doit son nom, à juste titre, à Sir William Herschel (1738 - 1822) qui a été le premier astronome à faire des observations dans la partie infrarouge du spectre électromagnétique.

Le Canada contribue à deux des trois instruments à bord de Herschel : SPIRE et HIFI. C’est le professeur David Naylor, de l’Université de Lethbridge, qui est responsable de la contribution canadienne au récepteur d’imagerie spectrale et photométrique SPIRE (Spectral and Photometric Imaging REceiver) et le professeur Michel Fich, de l’Université de Waterloo, qui est chargé de la contribution à HIFI, l’instrument hétérodyne pour l’observation dans l’infrarouge lointain. L’instrument SPIRE peut être considéré comme une caméra fonctionnant à de très grandes longueurs d’ondes allant bien au-delà de la limite de la vision humaine. Il s’agit là d’un outil unique qui permet aux astronomes d’étudier les conditions physiques de l’Univers à ses débuts. La partie spectromètre de SPIRE fournit ce qu’on pourrait appeler le film couleur à la caméra, ouvrant ainsi la porte sur une autre dimension de notre étude de l’Univers. Grâce à des fonds de l’Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC), l’équipe de l’Université de Lethbridge fournit du matériel servant à évaluer la performance de SPIRE avant le lancement, de même qu’un logiciel de traitement de données et un appui en personnel pour la phase opérationnelle de la mission. En contrepartie, cinq scientifiques associés provenant d’universités et d’instituts de recherche de partout au Canada ont obtenu du temps d’observation garanti à l’aide du télescope Herschel pour leurs propres travaux de recherche. Cette équipe va étudier un vaste éventail de problèmes d’astronomie : compréhension de la répartition de la matière au cours des premières phases d’existence de l’Univers, suivi de l’évolution des galaxies actives dans notre voisinage immédiat, étude des premières phases de la formation des étoiles dans notre galaxie, notamment.

Le modèle de vol SPIRE fait actuellement l’objet d’une évaluation de performance au Laboratoire Rutherford Appleton, à Oxford, au R.U. Cette importante campagne d’essais représente la dernière possibilité de repérer les problèmes associés à l’instrument dans sa forme actuelle et d’y remédier. Les premiers résultats obtenus aux essais du modèle de vol sont impressionnants. L’équipe canadienne a toutefois rapidement décelé un aspect inattendu dans les données et l’a attribué à une modification tardive de la conception optique. On discute actuellement des mesures à prendre pour diminuer l’impact de cette modification de conception tout en réduisant les risques pour le projet.

La participation du Canada à la mission Herschel ne constitue pas seulement une vitrine pour l’expertise canadienne dans une mission spatiale internationale, mais elle permet également de bâtir l’infrastructure nécessaire à sa participation à des missions futures. L’astronomie spatiale infrarouge ne s’arrêtera pas avec Herschel : la NASA, l’ESA et l’agence spatiale japonaise étudient actuellement des options de missions futures dans ce domaine s’inspirant des travaux d’avant-garde associés à l’observatoire Herschel, et le Canada est fort bien placé pour jouer un rôle déterminant dans ces missions.

Les détails de l'instrument sont présentés dans le cadre du congrès annuel de la Société canadienne d'astronomie tenu à l'Université de Montréal (Montréal, QC) du 15 au 17 mai.

Contact:

Professeur David Naylor
Dept. of Physics
University of Lethbridge
Tél: 403-329-2426
Courriel: naylor@uleth.ca

Pour en savoir plus, consulter les sites

http://research.uleth.ca/spire/
http://www.space.gc.ca/asc/index.html
http://sci.esa.int/science-e/www/area/index.cfm?fareaid=16

Vue d’artiste de l’engin Herschel
http://www.astro.umontreal.ca/~casca/PR/clip_image001.jpg

Inspection du miroir primaire du télescope Herschel chez EADS Astrium, à Toulouse, en France
http://www.astro.umontreal.ca/~casca/PR/clip_image002.jpg

Le professeur David Naylor aligne le spectromètre canadien à transformée de Fournier sur le banc d’essai de SPIRE, au Laboratoire Rutherford Appleton, à Oxford, au R.U.
http://www.astro.umontreal.ca/~casca/PR/clip_image003.jpg