NEW FIGURES RANK CANADA #1 IN ASTRONOMY

New figures from the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI) rank Canada number one in the world of international astronomy. This is the only area of scientific research where Canada leads the world.

The Institute for Scientific Information rates the quality and impact of scientific research worldwide by measuring the citation rate of research papers. To calculate the citation rate, ISI monitors recognized journals in all disciplines of science, and tabulates how often a specific research paper is cited in subsequent published research. The frequency with which a paper is cited is a strong indicator of both its quality and impact on a specific field of study.

According to the recently released figures (available at http://www.in-cites.com/) Canada now ranks first in the world in astronomy. Canadian researchers, the ISI statistics show, contributed to 4,836 research papers in space science (astronomy) over the past ten years. In all, these papers were cited in other published studies 76,921 times, giving Canada an overall citation rate of 15.91, the highest of any country. In contrast, American astronomers averaged 15.18 citations per paper, English astronomers 14.85, and Russians, 4.96 citations per paper.

“The fact that Canada ranks number one in citations is of no surprise to me,” says Dr. Matt Mountain, Director of the international Gemini Observatory. “Canadian astronomers are producing some of the best astronomy in the world, some of it right here at Gemini, and the instruments and software developed by Canadian teams are second to none.”

According to Dr. Greg Fahlman, Director-General of NRC’s Herzberg Institute of Astrophysics, Canada’s success is based on a strategy of focussed investments. “We invest in facilities and projects that build upon our existing strengths and then focus most of our research on the big scientific questions of our time, such as the mysteries of dark matter and dark energy.”

Because Canada builds state-of-the-art instruments for the best orbiting and ground-based telescopes in the world, says Fahlman, Canadian astronomers have access to the world’s foremost observatories where they can, in turn, work at the forefront of astronomical research.

We also, says Dr. René Racine, Professor Emeritus at the Université de Montréal, have an exceptional university community that includes and trains not only observational astronomers and instrumentalists, but some of the best theoretical and computational astrophysicists in the world. By working as a unified community, with significant interchange between theoretical and observational astronomers, Canada has created a powerhouse of discovery.

Highly cited Canadian projects include the Canada-France Redshift Survey and the Gemini Deep Deep Survey , projects that examine the structure and composition of galaxies at great distances from ours. Projects such as these are changing our understanding of the early universe. In theoretical astrophysics, researchers such as J.R. Bond and C.B. Netterfield at the University of Toronto and M. Halpern at the University of British Columbia are highly cited for work in the physics of the very early universe, the origin and evolution of cosmic structure, dark energy and dark matter.

While it’s wonderful for Canada to be ranked number one in astronomy in 2005, our long term goal, says Dr. James Hesser, President of the Canadian Astronomical Society, is to keep Canada at the forefront of astronomy. To do this, he emphasizes, we must maintain a strategy that clearly works – wise investment in key scientific questions – a strategy laid out in the Long Range Plan for Canadian Astronomy and Astrophysics in the 21st Century, a report published in 2000.

“In the Long Range Plan,” says Hesser, “we set clear, ambitious targets focussed squarely on key questions concerning the origins of structure in the universe.”

The report, he says, lays out Canada’s vision for astronomy for this decade and beyond, allowing us to focus our energy and resources on areas where we can have the most impact. Several of the recommendations made in that report, including Canadian participation in the Atacama Large Millimetre Array and the James Webb Space Telescope, are receiving funding. Fulfillment of this commitment, says Hesser, will ensure that Canada will continue to play a lead role in international astronomy in the decades to come.

For more information on the ISI statistics, a listing of Canada’s astronomy citation superstars and Canadian astronomy highlights, including Canada’s Long Range Plan please visit http://www.astro.umontreal.ca/~casca/PR/ISI-background.html

For more information please contact:

Dr. Dennis Crabtree
Phone: 250-216-9970
Email: Dennis.Crabtree@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Dr. René Racine
Phone: 450-464-8809
Email: racine@astro.umontreal.ca

Dr. Jim Hesser
Phone: 514-715-2147
Email: Jim.Hesser@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Dr. Greg Fahlman
Phone: 514-715-2147
Email: Greg.Fahlman@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Dr. Robert Lamontagne
Phone: 514-715-2147
Email: lamont@astro.umontreal.ca

SELON DE NOUVELLES DONNÉES, LE CANADA FIGURE AU PREMIER RANG EN ASTRONOMIE

Selon de nouvelles données publiées par l’Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), le Canada est le chef de file mondial dans le domaine de l’astronomie. Il s’agit de la seule discipline de recherche scientifique dans laquelle le Canada est à la tête du peloton sur le plan international.

L’Institute for Scientific Information évalue la qualité et l’impact des recherches scientifiques effectuées partout dans le monde en examinant le nombre de citations des articles de recherche. Pour calculer le nombre de citations, l’ISI surveille les revues reconnues dans toutes les disciplines scientifiques, et fait le total des citations des articles de recherche individuels dans la recherche publiée subséquente. La fréquence de citation d’un article est un indicateur de sa qualité ainsi que de son impact sur un domaine de recherche particulier.

Selon des données publiées récemment (disponibles à l’adresse http://www.in-cites.com/) le Canada figure maintenant au premier rang mondial en astronomie. Les statistiques de l’ISI montrent que les chercheurs canadiens ont contribué à 4836 articles de recherche en science spatiale (astronomie) au cours des dix dernières années. Au total, ces articles ont été cités 76 921 fois dans d’autres études publiées, donnant un indice de citation global de 15,91, le plus grand de tous les pays. Par contraste, les astronomes américains ont un indice moyen de 15,18 citations par article, les astronomes britanniques 14,85, et les Russes 4,96 citations par article.

« Le fait que le Canada figure au premier rang ne me surprend pas, » affirme Matt Mountain, directeur de l’observatoire international Gemini. « Les astronomes canadiens font parmi les meilleurs travaux en astronomie dans le monde entier, dont une partie ici même à l’observatoire Gemini, et les instruments et logiciels mis au point par les équipes canadiennes ne sont pas surpassés. »

Selon M. Greg Fahlman, Ph. D., directeur général de l’Institut Herzberg d’astrophysique, le succès du Canada est fondé sur une stratégie de concentration des investissements. « Nous investissons dans des installations et projets qui tirent profit de nos forces et nous nous concentrons ensuite à répondre aux grandes questions scientifiques de notre époque, comme les mystères de la matière noire et l’énergie noire. »

Comme le Canada construit des instruments à la fine pointe de la technologie pour les meilleurs télescopes spatiaux et terrestres du monde entier, dit Fahlman, les astronomes canadiens ont accès aux meilleurs observatoires, où ils peuvent ensuite travailler au premier plan de la recherche en astronomie.

De plus, selon M. René Racine, professeur émérite de l’Université de Montréal, nous avons une communauté universitaire exceptionnelle qui comprend et assure la formation non seulement d’astronomes et d’instrumentalistes d’observation, mais également quelques-uns des meilleurs astrophysiciens théoriciens et computationnels au monde. En travaillant d’un front commun, et grâce à un dialogue intense entre les astronomes théoriciens et d’observation, le Canada a créé un groupe très dynamique qui est en mesure de faire de grandes découvertes.

Parmi les projets canadiens très cités, mentionnons le Relevé Canada-France des décalages Doppler et le Gemini Deep Deep Survey , des projets qui visent à étudier la structure et la composition de galaxies très éloignées de la nôtre. Ces projets et d’autres nous permettent de mieux comprendre les débuts de l’univers. En astrophysique théorique, les études sur la physique de l’univers très jeune, l’origine et l’évolution de la structure cosmique, la matière noire et l’énergie noire, des chercheurs comme J.R. Bond et C.B. Netterfield de l’Université de Toronto et M. Halpern de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique ont été cités très fréquemment.

Bien qu’il soit merveilleux que le Canada figure au premier rang en astronomie en 2005, notre but à long terme, selon M. James Hesser, Ph. D., président de la Société canadienne d’astronomie, est de maintenir le Canada à la fine pointe de l’astronomie. Il souligne que, pour atteindre ce but, nous devons conserver une stratégie qui fonctionne bien – un investissement sage dans des questions scientifiques clés – une stratégie exposée dans le Plan à long terme pour l’astronomie et l’astrophysique au Canada au XXIe siècle (rapport publié en 2000).

« Dans le Plan à long terme », affirme Hesser, « nous fixons des objectifs clairs et ambitieux concernant des questions clés sur l’origine de la structure de l’Univers. »

Il déclare que ce rapport expose la vision du Canada pour l’astronomie pendant la présente décennie et plus tard, nous permettant de concentrer nos efforts et ressources dans des domaines où nous pouvons avoir le plus grand impact. Plusieurs des recommandations faites dans le rapport, incluant la participation du Canada au grand réseau inframillimétrique d’Atacama et au télescope spatial James Webb, reçoivent du financement. Selon M. Hesser, en réalisant cet engagement, le Canada continuera à jouer un rôle majeur en astronomie internationale dans les décennies à venir.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les statistiques de l’ISI, et une liste des vedettes des citations canadiennes en astronomie et des faits saillants de l’astronomie canadienne, incluant le plan à long terme pour le Canada, veuillez consulter le site
http://www.astro.umontreal.ca/~casca/PR/ISI-background_fr.html

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

M. Dennis Crabtree, Ph. D.
Tél: (250) 216-9970
Courriel: Dennis.Crabtree@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

M. René Racine, Ph. D.
Tél: (450) 464-8809
Courriel: racine@astro.umontreal.ca

M. Jim Hesser, Ph. D.
Tél: (514) 715-2147
Courriel: Jim.Hesser@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

M. Greg Fahlman, Ph. D.
Tél: (514) 715-2147
Courriel: Greg.Fahlman@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

M. Robert Lamontagne, Ph. D.
(514) 715-2147
Courriel: lamont@astro.umontreal.ca