AMATEUR ASTRONOMERS RECEIVE CUSTOM IMAGES FROM CANADA'S BIGGEST TELESCOPES

Using a big research telescope in Hawaii is a dream for most amateur sky watchers. That dream recently came true for two Canadian amateur astronomy groups. On May 15 their stunning images were unveiled during a special ceremony at the Canadian Astronomical Society annual meeting held at the Université de Montréal (Montréal, QC) from May 14 to 17.

The two images both show stars in early stages of their life. The 8 m diameter Gemini North telescope was used to image RY Tau, a star emerging from its stellar cocoon, at the request of the Club d’astronomie de Dorval, Quebec. The Big Sky Astronomical Society of Vulcan, Alberta requested an image of the Pleiades, a well-known cluster of young stars, taken with the 3.6 m diameter Canada France Hawai’i Telescope. Both telescopes are partially owned and operated by Canada.

The groups won the opportunity to request these images after a Canada-wide contest. The contest, which began in 2004, solicited proposals from more than a hundred amateur astronomy clubs throughout Canada as a way to thank them for the work they do to support and excite the public about astronomy. The winning proposals were selected by a process similar to that used by professional astronomers, where selection criteria include scientific merit and an assessment of the uniqueness of the observation.

Gilbert St-Onge is a member of the Quebec group which requested the image of RY Tau. “Our group knew that this object was unique and hadn’t been observed in detail with a big telescope like Gemini,” he says. “I feel like we’ve not only made a pretty picture, but probably provided some new and valuable data for the pros!”

Gemini Astronomer Tracy Beck, who studies these stellar incubators, agrees. “This object is a classic, and one of the first-known examples of the remains of a stellar nursery,” she said. “I believe this is by far the deepest and most detailed image ever taken of this object and scientists will no doubt use this data for important research in the future.” The Gemini image was taken with a camera known as GMOS (Gemini Multi-Object Spectrograph), which was partially built in Canada.

The image of the Pleiades requested by the Alberta group will also have its uses. “I firmly believe that a beautiful image of the Pleiades will inspire many students across the country to develop a life-long interest in the science of astronomy,” James Durbano wrote in his winning proposal. “It could even influence a young mind somewhere in our great country to pursue astronomy as a career.”

The selection committee agreed, and also said that such an image has never been taken at high resolution by such a large telescope before. They also felt the group’s request was an excellent use of MegaCam, the new giant camera on CFHT. This camera can capture in one pose a surface of more than 1 square degree, which is 4 times the surface on the sky covered by the Sun or the full Moon. The Pleiades star cluster covers a relatively large area on the sky, and other modern telescopes would not be able to photograph the entire thing.

The contest to request the images was organized by a team of scientists who coordinate Gemini observations for Canada (through the Canadian Gemini Office) at the National Research Council of Canada’s Herzberg Institute of Astrophysics (HIA) in Victoria (BC). The contest will probably be run again at a future date.

The two winning proposals can be viewed at:
http://www.hia-iha.nrc-cnrc.gc.ca/cgo/contest_e.html

The CFHT Image of the Pleiades and the Gemini Image of RY Tau are at:
http://www.gemini.edu/pr2005-4/images

Media contacts:

Prof. Doug Welch
(905) 525-9140 ext 23186
Cell: (250) 216-9970
welch@physics.mcmaster.ca
Departement of Physics & Astronomy
McMaster University
Hamilton, Ontario

Dr. Stéphanie Côté,
(250) 363-0026
cell: (250) 884-2683
stephanie.cote@nrc.ca
Canadian Gemini Office,
National Research Council Canada
Victoria, B.C.

Dr. Pierre Martin
(808) 885-3167
martin@cfht.hawaii.edu
Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope
Kamuela, Hawaii

Peter Michaud
(808) 974-2510
cell:(808) 937-0845
pmichaud@gemini.edu
Gemini Observatory
Hilo, Hawaii

DES ASTRONOMES AMATEURS OBTIENNENT DES IMAGES FAITES SUR MESURE PAR LES PLUS GRANDS TÉLESCOPES CANADIENS

Utiliser un grand télescope de recherche à Hawaï est un rêve pour la plupart des astronomes amateurs. Ce rêve est devenu réalité pour deux groupes d’astronomes amateurs canadiens. Les magnifiques images ont été dévoilées durant une cérémonie spéciale se déroulant lors du congrès annuel de la Société canadienne d’astronomie tenu à l’Université de Montréal (Montréal, QC) du 14 au 17 mai.

Les deux images montrent toutes deux les premières étapes de la vie des étoiles. À la requête du Club d’Astronomie de Dorval au Québec, le télescope Gemini Nord de 8m de diamètre a ciblé RY Tau, une étoile émergeant tout juste de son cocon stellaire. Le Club ‘Big Sky Astronomical Society’, de Vulcan en Alberta, a obtenu une image des Pléiades, l’amas d’étoiles jeunes bien connu, du Télescope Canada-France-Hawaï de 3.6m de diamètre. Le Canada participe au financement et à la gestion de ces deux Télescopes.

Ces groupes ont gagné la chance de recevoir ces images grâce à un concours à l’échelle du Canada. Le concours, commencé en 2004, a sollicité des propositions de plus d’une centaine de clubs d’astronomie amateurs au Canada afin de les remercier de leurs efforts à soutenir et stimuler l’intérêt du public à l’astronomie. Les demandes gagnantes ont été sélectionnées selon un processus identique à celui utilisé par les astronomes professionnels, selon lequel les critères de sélection incluent le mérite scientifique et une évaluation du caractère unique de cette observation.

Gilbert St-Onge est un membre du groupe québécois qui a demandé l’image de RY Tau. « Notre groupe savait que cet objet est unique et n’avait jamais été observé en détail par un grand télescope comme Gemini », dit-il. “Je sens que non seulement nous avons obtenu une belle image, mais probablement aussi apporté de nouvelles et précieuses données pour les pros ! »

Tracy Beck, une astronome de Gemini qui étudie ces incubateurs stellaires, le confirme. « Cet objet est un classique, et un des premiers exemples connus des restes d’une pouponnière stellaire, » dit elle. « Je crois que c’est de loin l’image la plus profonde et la plus détaillée jamais prise de cet objet et les scientifiques utiliseront sûrement ces données pour d’importantes recherches dans le futur. » L’image Gemini a été obtenue avec une caméra appelée GMOS (“Gemini Multi-Object Spectrograph”), qui a été construite en partie au Canada.

L’image des Pléiades demandée par le groupe d’Alberta sera aussi utile. Comme l’a écrit James Durbano dans sa demande gagnante : « Je crois fermement qu’une belle image des Pléiades pourra inspirer plusieurs écoliers et écolières à travers le pays à développer un intérêt pour la science de l’astronomie. Elle pourrait même influencer un jeune esprit quelque part dans notre grand pays à poursuivre une carrière en astronomie. »

Le comité de sélection pensait de même, et a aussi remarqué qu’une telle image à haute résolution n’avait jamais été obtenue auparavant par un si grand télescope. Le comité a aussi trouvé que la requête du groupe faisait un excellent usage de Megacam, la nouvelle caméra géante au TCFH. Cette caméra peut capter en une seule image une surface de plus de 1 degré carré, soit 4 fois la surface couverte sur le ciel par le Soleil ou la Lune. L’amas d’étoiles des Pléiades couvre une très large surface sur le ciel que les autres télescopes modernes ne peuvent pas photographier en entier.

Le concours pour les astronomes amateurs a été organisé par un groupe de scientifiques qui coordonne les observations Gemini au Canada (par le biais du Bureau Gemini Canadien) à l’Institut Herzberg d’Astrophysique (IHA) du Conseil National de Recherches du Canada, situé à Victoria (C.-B.). Ce concours sera probablement tenu de nouveau dans le futur.

Les deux demandes gagnantes peuvent être lues à :
http://www.hia-iha.nrc-cnrc.gc.ca/cgo/contest_f.html

L’image des Pléiades du TCFH, et celle de RY Tau de Gemini sont à :
http://www.gemini.edu/pr2005-4/images

Contacts :

Prof. Doug Welch
(905) 525-9140 ext 23186
Cell : (250) 216-9970
welch@physics.mcmaster.ca
Department of Physics & Astronomy
McMaster University Hamilton, Ontario

Stéphanie Côté
(250) 363-0026
cell: (250) 884-2683
stephanie.cote@nrc.ca
Bureau Gemini Canadien,
Conseil National de Recherches du Canada
Victoria, C.B.

Pierre Martin
(808) 885-3167
martin@cfht.hawaii.edu
Telescope Canada-France-Hawai
Kamuela, Hawai

Peter Michaud
(808) 974-2510
cell:(808) 937-0845
pmichaud@gemini.edu
Observatoire Gemini
Hilo, Hawai