IN THE WAR AGAINST STARS: QUÉBEC STRIKES BACK !

Will the province of Quebec lose its reputation of being one of the place most affected by light pollution on Earth? Almost everywhere in Quebec, actions are taken to protect the night sky. From the establishment of a dark sky preservation park at the mont Mégantic Observatory, to the firm will to reduce the light pollution produced by the cities of Sherbrooke, Montréal and Québec, thing are changing in Quebec. From last of the class, the image of Quebec is changing rapidly into one of leader in the fight against light pollution. Details of the plan are presented by astrophysicist Yvan Dutil at the Canadian Astronomical Society annual meeting held at Université de Montréal from 14 to 17 May 2005.

The province of Quebec is one of the places where light pollution causes the worst damage. Satellites observations taken durng the winter of 1997 demonstrate than Montréal was sending as much light in space as New York; Quebec City as much as Paris. Even after taking into account the reflection of light on snow, this means than each resident of the province emits two to three time as much light as the average American or European.

With these figures, the creation of a dark sky preserve at Mont Mégantic national park represents a decisive step. The goal of this project, promoted by the Astrolab, the Mont Mégantic Park, the SÉPAQ et the Mount Mégantic Observatory, is to reduce the light pollution by a factor two before the end of 2006. The idea came to Yvan Dutil, twelve years ago. “At that time, I was just coming back from Hawaii, where the night sky is pristine. Upset by the situation in Quebec, I proposed the creation of a dark sky preservation park around the mont Mégantic Observatory”, remember the researcher now working for ABB, in Quebec City. The birth of this project, after so many years, rejoices the astrophysicist.

To reduce the growth of light pollution, in the MRC du Granit, du Haut Saint-François and the city of Sherbrooke a bylaw will enforced to rule the nightime lighting systems. However, the real objective is much more ambitious: financing the replacement of all lighting system within 25 km of the observatory. The replacement will allow a reduction of 40% of the energy consumption and 80% of the light pollution. This is one of the most aggressive actions ever taken to reduce light pollution.

It should be noted than the evolution of light pollution will be monitored by an instrument developed by the Groupe de Recherche et d'Applications en Physique au Collège de Sherbrooke (GRAPHYCS). This instrument and the mathematical model used to analyse the data are among the most advanced in the world. This will allow to document in detail, the impact of the restrictions put in place.

Elsewhere in Quebec, the situation progresses rapidly. Following the efforts of Comité Ciel Noir de la Fédération des Astronomes amateurs de Québec, the reduction of light pollution is now a preoccupation for the cities of Montreal and Quebec. In addition to light pollution, it is the energy efficiency, road safety and improvement of the nocturnal ambiance that motivate those municipalities. Soon, Quebec City will experiment an adaptive lighting system, which will allow a dynamic modulation of the lighting level in function of needs and time of the day.

Already, Quebec’s successes generate some jealousy elsewhere in the world. With some effort, within a few years, all Quebec residents will enjoy more economic and safer lighting with stars added in bonus.

To know more about the light pollution in Quebec, contact:

Yvan Dutil
Phone : (418) 877-2944 ext 226
Email: Yvan.Dutil@sympatico.ca

For specific information about the Mount Mégantic Dark sky preserve, please contact:

Chloé Legris
Astrolab du mont Mégantic
Projet engineer
Phone: (819) 888-2941 #228
Email: pollution.lumineuse@astrolab.qc.ca

DANS LA GUERRE CONTRE LES ÉTOILES : LE QUÉBEC CONTRE ATTAQUE !

Le Québec va-t-il perdre sa réputation d’être l’un des endroits les plus contaminés par la pollution lumineuse au monde? Un peu partout au Québec, des mesures sont prises pour protéger le ciel nocturne. Ces actions vont de l’établissement d’une réserve de ciel noir au mont Mégantic, en passant par la volonté ferme de réduire la pollution lumineuse affichée par les villes de Sherbrooke, Montréal et Québec. De dernier de classe, l’image du Québec se transforme rapidement en celle de meneur dans le domaine de la lutte à la pollution lumineuse. Les détails de cette lutte à la pollution lumineuse sont présentés par l'astrophysicien Yvan Dutil dans le cadre du congrès annuel de la Société canadienne d'astronomie (CASCA) qui a lieu a l'Université de Montréal du 14 au 17 mai 2005.

Le Québec est un des endroits où la pollution lumineuse fait le plus de ravage. À l’hiver 1997, des observations satellites indiquaient que Montréal envoyait autant de lumière vers le ciel que New York, Québec autant que Paris. Même en tenant compte de la réflexion sur la neige, il faut tout de même que chaque québécois émette deux à trois fois plus de lumière qu’américain ou un européen pour arriver à de tels résultats.

Dans ces conditions, la création d’une réserve de ciel noir au Mont Mégantic représente un pas décisif. Ce projet mené par l’Astrolab, le Parc du Mont Mégantic, la SÉPAQ et l’Observatoire du Mont Mégantic a pour objectif de réduire la pollution lumineuse de moitié d’ici 2006. Cette idée a d’abord germée dans l’esprit d’Yvan Dutil, il y a une douzaine d’année. « À l’époque, je revenais d’un stage à Hawaii où le ciel est très noir. Choqué par la situation au Québec, j’ai proposé que l’on instaure une réserve de ciel noir à Mégantic», se rappelle le chercheur, travaillant maintenant chez ABB. Que le projet se concrétise, après des années d’effort, réjouit l’astrophysicien.

Pour se faire, dans les MRC du Granit et du Haut Saint-François ainsi qu’à la ville de Sherbrooke, un règlement régira les systèmes d’éclairage ce qui permettra de réduire la croissance de la pollution lumineuse. Toutefois, l’objectif réel est beaucoup plus ambitieux : financer le remplacement tous les systèmes d’éclairages dans un rayon de 25 km de l’observatoire. Ce remplacement permettra de réduire la consommation d’énergie de 40% et la production de pollution lumineuse de plus de 80%. Il s’agit là d’une des actions les plus agressives jamais prise afin de réduire la pollution lumineuse.

Fait à noter, l’évolution de pollution lumineuse sera étudiée par un instrument développé par le groupe de recherche et d'applications en physique au Collège de Sherbrooke (GRAPHYCS). Cet instrument et le modèle mathématique permettant d’analyser ses mesures sont parmi les plus avancés au monde. Ils permettront de documenter en détail l’impact des mesures mise en place.

Ailleurs au Québec, la situation progresse rapidement. Suite aux efforts du Comité Ciel Noir de la Fédération des Astronomes amateurs de Québec, la réduction de la pollution lumineuse fait désormais partie des préoccupations de la ville de Montréal et de Québec. Au-delà de la protection du ciel nocturne, ce sont les économies d’énergie, la sécurité routière et l’amélioration de l’ambiance nocturne qui motivent ces municipalités. D’ailleurs, la ville de Québec expérimentera bientôt un système d’éclairage adaptatif, qui permettra de moduler le niveau d’éclairage en fonction des besoins et de l’heure de la nuit.

Déjà, les succès québécois font des jaloux ailleurs dans le monde. Avec un peu d’effort dans quelques années, tous les Québécois bénéficieront d’un éclairage plus économique et sécuritaire, avec des étoiles en prime!

Pour plus d’information sur la pollution lumineuse au Québec, contactez :

Yvan Dutil
Tél: (418) 877-2944 p.226
Courriel: Yvan.Dutil@sympatico.ca

Pour des informations spécifiques sur la réserve de ciel noir du mont Mégantic, contactez :

Chloé Legris
AstroLab du mont Mégantic
Chargée de projet
Tél: (819) 888-2941 #228
Courriel: pollution.lumineuse@astrolab.qc.ca